Friday August 12, 2016 - 01:00 PM
Friday August 12, 2016 - 02:00 PM
Title: Functional Laboratory Analysis & Personalized Nutrition
 

Speaker: Terry Arden Pollock, MS
 
Date: Friday, August 12, 2016
 

Time: 1:00 pm eastern/12:00 pm central/11:00 am mountain/10:00 am pacific
 
Registration Link: http://bit.ly/24WDs7e
 
*Registration is FREE 

*Note, this session will be presented using VOIP. A phone number will not be available. 

*1 FREE CPEU Credit will be earned for live attendance.
 
Webinar will be recorded and posted to the AIND website for later viewing.
 
Session Summary:

This webinar will acquaint attendees with the clinical benefits of functional laboratory testing in practice. Speaker will showcase tests on amino acids, urine organic acids as well as stool testing markers to illustrate the best use of testing as a clinical tool.
 
Speaker Bio:

Ms. Pollock received a BS degree in biology/life sciences from NC State University and a Master of Science (MS) in clinical nutrition from East Carolina University. Terry was Curator of Education for the NC Aquarium for several years. She then became a research associate on an NIH grant at the University of Texas Medical Branch, creating a chromatography method for detecting glutathione in human milk. She joined Metametrix Clinical Lab for ten years, creating their first medical educator position, presenting at medical conferences, teleconferences and seminars around the US while maintaining a nutrition consulting practice. She served as an editorial reviewer for Alternative Medicine Review for more than 15 years. Beginning in 2000, Terry spent 6 years in university teaching (nutrition and environmental science electives) and corporate wellness consulting. In 2006, Terry returned to Metametrix, as Sr. Clinical Educator for this lab (which merged with Genova Diagnostics, Inc. in 2012). She has co-authored several professional publications. Her professional interests include genetic “optimization” through nutritional biochemistry, sustainable lifestyles, and bioenergetics.
 
Objectives:
 
1. Identify the importance of the individual's nutritional biochemistry in body function
2. Describe the interconnectedness of nutrition to all body system
3. Review selected lab tests to assess certain nutritional imbalances
 
Learning Need Codes: 2010, 3060, 5400, 5420
 
CPE Level: II
 
For any questions please contact
 
Manjushree Karkare, MS RDN LDN CLT FAND
Community Leader, AIND MIG
manjukarkare@gmail.com
Tel 919-426-6956